Standing Up For Injured Workers In New Jersey
At Lieberman, Ryan & Forrest, L.L.C., we protect the rights of injured workers in Somerville, Flemington, and throughout Somerset County, Hunterdon County and surrounding areas in New Jersey.
If you have been injured on the job, our workers’ compensation lawyers are here for you. We have extensive experience and a proven record of success handling workers’ comp claims and appeals.
Were You Injured On The Job?
Workers’ compensation provides people who were injured on the job with benefits that cover medical bills and lost wages. The amount of compensation you receive depends upon a number of factors, including the severity of your injuries and the extent of your temporary or permanent disability.
Our attorneys can help you navigate the complex process of pursuing workers’ compensation benefits in New Jersey. We also stand up for people who have lost loved ones in fatal work accidents.
Maximizing Your Compensation
A job injury entitles you to workers’ compensation benefits, no matter who was at fault. Our lawyers can help you pursue maximum compensation for your injury, including legal areas outside of workers’ comp law. If your injury was the result of negligence on the part of a third party (not your employer), you may also be able to pursue a personal injury claim.
Types Of Workers’ Compensation Benefits
New Jersey workers’ compensation laws provide for the following benefits:
- Medical benefits: Necessary and reasonable medical treatment, prescriptions and hospital services related to the work injury are paid by the employer’s insurance carrier or directly by the employer if self-insured. The employer and/or its insurance carrier have the right to pick medical providers for all work-related injuries.
- Temporary total benefits: If an injured worker is disabled for a period of more than seven days, they will be eligible to receive temporary total benefits, retroactive to the first day of lost time. The benefit will be paid at a rate of 70% of the worker’s average weekly wage, not to exceed the statutory maximum rate or fall below the statutory minimum rate established annually by the Commissioner of the Department of Labor and Workforce Development. These benefits are provided until the worker has returned to work, reached maximum medical improvement or reached the statutory 400-week maximum.
- Permanent partial benefits: When a job-related injury or illness results in a permanent bodily impairment, benefits are based on the individual’s functional loss. These benefits are paid weekly and are due once temporary disability ends.
- Permanent total benefits: When a work injury or illness prevents a worker from returning to any type of gainful employment, they may be entitled to receive permanent total disability benefits. These weekly benefits are provided initially for a period of 450 weeks. Benefits continue beyond the initial 450 weeks provided that the injured worker is able to show that they remain totally disabled. The benefits are paid weekly and are based on 70% of the average weekly wage, not to exceed the statutory maximum or fall below the statutory minimum.
- Death benefits: Dependents of a worker who dies as a result of a work-related injury or illness may be eligible to receive death benefits and funeral expenses. The weekly benefits are 70% of the wage of the deceased worker, not to exceed the statutory maximum, with funeral expenses up to $3,500.
Know Your Rights
The Division of Workers’ Compensation is responsible for the administration of the New Jersey Workers’ Compensation Act (N.J.S.A. 34:15-1 et seq.). This is accomplished by:
- Ensuring that workers receive fair and timely workers’ compensation benefits for work-related injuries from their employers and/or insurance carriers
- Enforcing the law that requires employers to secure workers’ compensation insurance coverage from commercial insurance carriers or self-insurance programs
- Providing certain benefit payments to injured workers who are totally and permanently disabled as a result of their last work-related injury combined with the worker’s pre-existing disabilities. These benefits commence at the conclusion of the payment of benefits from the worker’s employer.
With offices in Somerville and Flemington, we serve clients in Somerset County, Hunterdon County and throughout New Jersey.
Steps You Should Take After An Accident
Many people aren’t sure what to do after an accident. The first thing you should do is report the incident to your manager. You should then seek medical care from an approved workers’ compensation doctor. Your manager or human resources representative can and should provide you with this information. Then, reach out to an experienced attorney. Our team takes the time to answer your questions and explain your rights.
In most cases, you cannot sue your employer for an accident or illness on the job. However, if a third party causes your injury, you may be entitled to additional compensation by filing a personal injury lawsuit. For example, maybe you were driving a company vehicle and someone struck you. In this case, you could file a personal injury claim and file for workers’ compensation. We can help you understand your options.
While hiring a lawyer is not an absolute requirement, due to the adversarial nature of the proceedings, it is highly recommended. Additionally, in almost all successful cases, the workers’ compensation insurance carrier is ordered by the judge who hears the case to pay at least 50% of the fee awarded to the worker’s lawyer. Of course, if unsuccessful, there is never a legal fee.
Schedule A Free Consultation To Discuss Your Claim And Your Options
To schedule a free, no-obligation initial consultation, call us at 908-608-8504 to reach our Somerville office or 908-643-7134 for our Flemington office. Or, if you prefer, contact us by email using our online submission form. Evening and weekend appointments are available.
Personal injury, workers’ compensation and Social Security cases are handled on a contingent basis – no recovery, no fee.